Ectopic Post Op

Today we had out post operation appointment. It’s been a little over two weeks since my surgery and although I am feeling better, I don’t think that I’m 100% healed. We removed the thin strips of tape that held together the two slabs of skin that were cut through. Beneath the incision, it’s a little hard, similar to a callous. The doctor says that this is normal and that it will be about 2 months before the skin starts to feel soft again.

It still hurts when I move around and I am still walking at a similar pace to an 80 year old. I have been trying to take it easy and refrain from lifting  and maneuvering heavy objects. I am thankful for Blaine because he has been really good about helping me through this healing process.

Emotionally, I’m still strong. We have been having to explain our situation to many people as many knew we were going through IVF. I keep feeling selfish for not being more sad about losing a baby but the feeling of being semi healthy and free of pain and vomiting is such a feeling that I take for granted. Challenges happen to the best of us and those who are able to handle it…I try to remind myself of this everyday. I can handle anything and wouldn’t wish what we went through upon anyone.

Blaine and I have experienced these challenges for a reason. It has brought us to a totally new place and has challenged so many aspects of our lives. What doesn’t kill us will only make us stronger. Today, we are stronger and have proved that we are resilient to whatever comes our way.

Leave a comment